Lahore Walli: Rants of a Desi Bride

15078668_345398029153398_4733433737548474650_n
Fauzia, the girl behind ‘Rants of a Desi Bride’

Why is the last button on a button down shirt always oriented horizontally unlike the rest of the buttons? What is the purpose of the loop on the back of a shirt? When did dhaba owners decide to use the adjective ‘coozy’ for haleem? Is it really cozy? You get the point?  I’m a curious person and E is a patient listener. He listens to questions, shakes his head and leaves me to Google. Very smart.

But Google isn’t always helpful. When I wondered what Disney meant by happily ever after, it revealed its idiocy to me. A few months later, I stumbled upon an Instagram account, Rants of a Desi Bride. There was my answer.

Fauzia is the desi bride behind the blog, Rants of a Desi Bride. You can scroll all the way down to the bottom of her Instagram page and start going through her shaadi journey, listen to her rant and laugh. She made a beautiful bride. And now that she has been married for a year, she makes you realize what Disney meant by happily ever after, only Disney never talked about the positive mindset that Fauzia talks about.

15369296_358614051165129_3744430898327326388_o
Fauzia with her husband

But I decided to talk to Fauzia about something else. She moved from Karachi to Lahore to be with her husband and I was curious about how she was finding the city. Luckily, I didn’t have to turn to Google. We had a little tête-à-tête:

When is Lahore at its best for you?

Fauzia: Just as summer starts fading away, there is this beautiful chill in the air – For me, Lahore is definitely at its best then. I love that beautiful winter smell in the air.

What would a perfect evening in Lahore look like? 

Fauzia: A perfect Lahori evening? Hmm…For me, on a very personal level, it would probably involve a very casual walk with my husband followed by some disgusting roadside french fries/pakoray/chaat.

Lahore and food are somewhat synonymous. Favorite Lahori eatery?

Fauzia: I am obsessed with H&G’s Ginger Mint Lemonade. Give it to me right now and I’ll have it. As for food, I really like Lahore Social, mostly because their food is consistently good. My go to place, however, is definitely Johnny and Jugnu. Their tortilla wrap is incredible. And of course Maro Tandoor for those awesome stuffed naans.

How are Lahori weddings different from Karachi weddings? 

Fauzia: Lahori weddings are way too flashy. Sometimes its hard to figure out who the bride is because everyone is so dressed up. Haha. I feel like in Karachi, people are becoming more mature when it comes to the shaadi business. Less events, less guests, less wastage. People here say things like ‘Oh they had one event? Probably just trying to save money’. That is a mindset that is almost out of Karachi and I hope Lahore follows soon. 8-9 events per wedding makes me want to jump off a cliff.

Lahore is like…

Lahore is like that very loud neighbor we have a love-hate relationship with. It is a little judgmental, sadly very materialistic but deep inside has a kind heart and is very welcoming.

A tourist is in town and can visit only one spot, where would you take them?

It would either be Masjid Wazir Khan (mainly because I still haven’t been there myself. What better excuse to go? Haha) or Badshahi Masjid.

Curiosity sufficed!

Leave a Reply

