Three Places that Deliver After 3 AM

The month, I moved into my former apartment at the Lahore Heritage Club (the place doesn’t rent units anymore), I was told my kitchen would be up and running in a week’s time. And then came Eid pouncing on the city, independence day followed. All of a sudden, all the laborers in the city decided to leave for Islamabad for the dharna.  Three months later, I learned that all landlords in this city are bankrupt and promises are meant not to be taken seriously here. Yes, that’s a legit excuse for eating out every single day for 90 days straight. I’m allergic to the Lahori take on western cuisine now. The thought of it nauseates me.

And yet when hunger knocks my door at two in the morning, I choose to order pasta over paratha roll. I hope. I choose optimism. Maybe, this time it would turn out better. Flavorful instead of pretentious.

Presenting to you my 3 knights in shinning armors that give me a chance to practice such practiced optimism:

Knight # 1: Insomnia Kitchen

When you order food at 3 AM, you aren’t expecting deliciousness. You want warm comforting food that will lull you to sleep. That is if you didn’t smoke grass earlier and now the munchies are killin’ ya. In that case, you are only looking for FOOD. Dial these guys! If you are looking for quantity, go ahead and order Cajun Pasta. Be warned: Anything with white sauce is going to be runny. Mama didn’t teach ’em anythin’ about addin’ flour to bechamel.

Their nutella crepe does an okay job at satisfying midnight sugar cravings.

The BOMB here are the mozzarella sticks. K is gaga over them especially when he is killing them good cops with a video game controller with the boys! Have I mentioned my dislike for COD, earlier? Actually, lets not go there.

Knight # 2: Pizza Hot Slice

I like these guys because they are the only folks in Lahore who will give you three personal pan pizzas in 600 rupees! Is the pizza any good? Mehh! I always ask for the veggie pizza. It’s bearable. I recommend Pizza Hot Slice for the price.

Knight # 3: Dusk2Dawn

When we stumbled upon these folks on eatoye!, we were sure they were Insomnia Kitchen in disguise. We checked their Facebook page. The menu was similar. The branding was similar too. Prices were the same. We still went ahead and ordered. A pleasant surprise! Their mama taught ’em the use of flour. They got their white sauce right! Somewhat. They have their game one notch up from Insomnia Kitchen when it comes to taste.  Last time we ordered, we got banana bread for free. Ahem, complimentary!

Note: There’s so much you can expect when you are ordering food at 3 in the morning. Standard delivery time is 45 minutes for most places. Food is more or less same as airplane food! Always call instead of ordering through one of those annoying apps; Foodpanda/eatoye

3 thoughts on “Three Places that Deliver After 3 AM

Leave a comment